xBox 360 Brushless DC (BLDC) spindle motors - Electronics Forums

Author Topic: xBox 360 Brushless DC (BLDC) spindle motors  (Read 13772 times)

ElectroNick

• The forum moderator
  • Administrator
  • The soldering iron is ON!
    • View Profile
    • Electronics Blog
xBox 360 Brushless DC (BLDC) spindle motors
« on: December 08, 2011, 03:57:06 PM »
Since I've published the Arduino Stroboscope project, I've been asked a few times about the design of the xBox 360 spindle motor and I feel like I need to remove some ambiguity about using xBox as a source of BLDC motor.

I'm not an xBox expert and cannot tell exactly which hardware version uses what kind of motor but I should say that so far I've seen at least three different kinds of xBox spindle motors (see picture attached):
  • 3-wire same motors as in the project and more detailed in the BLDC upgrade post
  • 4-wire ribbon cable. Still the same motor, only slightly different PCB and the fourth wire appears to be the windings' center point traced to the outside
  • 11-wire ribbon cable. This is a different motor that is similar to most every other DVD spindle motor out there. It has connections for three windings, a +5V (or another reference voltage) and a GND for the Hall sensors and three sensor outputs. In fact, judging by the pin count, it is entirely possible that each sensor has it's own reference voltage pin.

Someone with more xBox hardware experience should correct me if I'm wrong  but I think that the "normal" 11-wire BLDC actually comes from an OEM replacement drive rather than an original one but maybe they've just changed the hardware design drastically at some point - I don't know.